Welcome to my "mind palace" and play ground. Find me here!

I just wanna express myself in a positive way ;)

I’m about to be…

I’m about to begin my journey to the holiest place on earth, insha Allah. I ask you all to forgive my many shortcomings and any wrongs I may have done to any of you. As I prepare to take the path to umrah, insha Allah, my advice to myself, first, and you second is:
As much as you can, keep dunya (worldly life) in your hand–not in your heart. That means when someone insults you, keep it out of your heart so it doesn’t make you bitter or defensive. When someone praises you, also keep it out of your heart, so it doesn’t make you arrogant and self-deluded. When you face hardship and stress, don’t absorb it in your heart, so you don’t become hopeless and overwhelmed. Instead keep it in your hands and realize that everything passes. When you’re given a gift by God, don’t hold it in your heart. Hold it in your hand so that you don’t begin to love the gift more than the giver. And so that when it is taken away you can truly respond with ‘inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi rajioon’: ‘indeed we belong to God, and to God we return’.

– Yasmin Mogahed

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2013 by in Stuffs!.
